China (中国; Zhōngguó), officially the People’s Republic of China (中华人民共和国 Zhōnghuá Rénmín Gònghéguó), is a vast country in East Asia with about the same land area as the United States of America, and with 1.4 billion inhabitants the country with the world’s largest population.

With coasts on the East China Sea, Korea Bay, Yellow Sea, and South China Sea, it borders 14 nations—AfghanistanPakistanIndiaNepalBhutanMyanmarLaos and Vietnam to the south, TajikistanKazakhstan and Kyrgyzstanto the west, Russia and Mongolia to the north and North Korea to the east. This number of neighbouring states is equalled only by China’s vast neighbour to the north, Russia.

This article only covers mainland China. Please see the separate articles for Hong KongMacau and Taiwan.